Meet the Interns

Summer is definitely upon us in South Florida.  The temperatures are rising, the turtles are returning to nest, and our summer interns are here!  This term, we are lucky to have four interns from all over the country working for the Conservation Department.

Steph is our new Conservation Intern.  She will be working with the team to implement conservation measures on fishing piers, recycle monofilament fishing line collected in Palm Beach County, sort through hundreds of pounds of debris removed from beach and underwater cleanups, and develop a new conservation project of her own.

Sophia, Audrey, and Taylor are our Data Collection Interns. They will be speaking with recreational boaters in the area to gather baseline data for a project we’ll launch next summer.

Below, each Intern introduces him/herself.  If you see them around campus or around town, please stop to say hello!

My name is Stephanie and I am a Marine Science major at Florida Gulf Coast University, minoring in Geology.  I am set to graduate in the fall and would love to continue my education with graduate school, focusing on conservation and environmental studies.  Originally, I am from Illinois and have always had a passion for the ocean and the marine creatures in it.  This led me to move down to Florida three years ago to follow my dream of assisting in conservation efforts.  In my free time, you will either find me at the beach, SCUBA diving, kayaking, cuddling with my dogs, fishing, or eating pizza!  I am very excited to spend my summer at Loggerhead Marinelife Center, gaining more hands-on experience and being a part of an amazing organization.

Hello! My name is Sophia. I was born and raised right outside of Boston, Massachusetts and I am going to be a junior at Roger Williams University where I am pursuing a Bachelor of Science degree in Marine Biology and minoring in Latin. I love spending time outdoors, especially by the ocean, and I love SCUBA diving. I’m excited to be down in Florida this summer to be a part of the Conservation Team, learning about data collection and all about sea turtles!  

I’m Audrey. I’m a rising sophomore and Biology major at the University of Texas. Despite my Texas home, I grew up just outside Orlando.  In my free time, I enjoy frequenting parks with my dog, playing volleyball, and practicing yoga. 

My name is Taylor.  I’m 23 years old from Jupiter, Florida. I am a senior majoring in Maritime Studies at the University of West Florida in Pensacola. In my free time, I enjoy working out and fishing as much as I can.

Leave a comment